View Cart
Empty Cart
* ABOUT US | * BULK GRAIN ORDER in SC | * CALENDER | * CLASSES | * CONTACT US | * NEWSLETTER | * ORDERING INFO | FAVORITE BUSINESSES | GNLD & GLUTEN | RECIPES (Blendtec) | RECIPES - Coconut Flour | RECIPES - Stevia (Beverages) | RECIPES - Stevia (Cakes/Pies) | RECIPES - Stevia (Cookies) | RECIPES - Stevia (Quick Breads) | WHOLE WHEAT BREAD RECIPE
+  * GRAIN / FLOUR Gluten Free
+  *****************************

People sometimes ask me….are GNLD products gluten free?

When I first joined GNLD, I was told all GNLD products were gluten-free. (*See the first email below dated June 28, 2006).

In the years since, "rules" and "allowable limits" have changed so below it is the most recent note I have.

Everything on this page from here on is quoted, word-for-word, from that letter.

Sent: Wednesday, June 28, 2006 7:31 PM
Subject: GNLD

Dear Cindy,
Thank you for inquiring about Gluten free products. The following response is from our Product Marketing Department.

All GNLD products are gluten free. We do not use the portion of the grain that contains gluten.

Gluten is a plant protein found primarily in wheat and to a lesser degree in some other grains. It is not necessary to use the portion of the plant which contains gluten, in order to derive a nutritional benefit. For example, Tre-En-En (which includes wheat germ extract) is the lipid portion of the grains and as such does not contain any protein and therefore no gluten.

I hope this information helps. If you have any questions please call 1-800-432-5842.

Distributor Service

Gluten and its Presence in NeoLife US/CB Products
October 2013

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in grains (related to the grass family) such as wheat, rye and barley. It is a composite of proteins gliadin and glutenin, which comprise about 80% of the protein contained in wheat.

Who should not consume gluten containing products?

People who have been clinically diagnosed with celiac disease, also known as gluten sensitive enteropathy and celiac sprue cannot tolerate gluten, and are hence advised to eat gluten-free diets over life.

What is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is an autoimmune condition which results from an inappropriate immune system response to gluten. It is a genetic disease and sometimes it is triggered or becomes active for the first time after some type of stress to the body (e.g. surgery, pregnancy, child birth, an infection or severe emotional stress). Celiac disease affects less than 1% of the population (1 in 133 people)1 of the United States. The manifestations of celiac disease range from no symptoms to malabsorption of nutrients due to damage to the villi in the small intestine. These individuals cannot tolerate gluten, and have to consume gluten-free diets.

How is ‘gluten-free’ defined?

Various regulatory agencies around the world define/endorse the levels of gluten in products a little differently:

• As of 2011, the Australian Coeliac Society maintains an acceptable limit of less than 20 ppm gluten to claim “gluten-free”.2

• In Europe the labeling laws changed as of January 1, 2012: products containing less than 20 ppm can be called gluten-free and products containing 21-100ppm can be listed in the “very low gluten” category.3 As of 2008 the Codex Alimentarius lowered its standards for gluten-free to 20 ppm. There are 185 Countries4 represented on the Commission and these countries are expected to comply with the new limit.

• As of August 2013, the FDA in the US has defined ‘gluten-free’ for voluntary use in labeling of foods as those containing less than 20 ppm (parts per million)5 of gluten.

In addition to limiting the unavoidable presence of gluten to less than 20 ppm, FDA allows manufacturers to label a food "gluten-free" if the food does not contain any of the following: 5

1.an ingredient that is any type of wheat, rye, barley, or crossbreeds of these grains

2.an ingredient derived from these grains and that has not been processed to remove gluten

3.an ingredient derived from these grains and that has been processed to remove gluten, if it results in the food containing 20 or more parts per million (ppm) gluten

It is important to note that the ‘gluten free’ definition has been created with foods in mind where people may be consuming larger portions (several grams). In the case of supplements where the supplement may contain more than 20 ppm, due to their much smaller consumption amounts, people may be able to safely consume them.

1. U.S. Department of Health and Human services. Celiac Disease Fact Sheet. National Institutes of Health. http://digestive.niddk.nih.gov/ddiseases/pubs/celiac/celiac.pdf

2. Coeliac Australia. Endorsement and the Crossed Grain. http://www.coeliac.org.au/endorsement-program/

3. European Commission Regulation 41/2009, http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2009:016:0003:0005:EN:PDF, http://www.food.gov.uk/multimedia/pdfs/glutenfaqs.pdf

4. List of countries represented on the Codex Alimentarius Commission. www.codexalimentarius.net/web/members.jsp?lang=EN

5. US FDA. What is Gluten-Free? FDA Has an Answer http://www.fda.gov/forconsumers/consumerupdates/ucm363069.htm

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Are NeoLife nutritional products gluten free?
A majority of NeoLife nutritional products are gluten free, some are not.

These products are either tested to have less than 20 ppm of gluten or do not contain gluten contributing ingredients from wheat, rye, barley, or crossbreeds of these grains. (Updated December 2015)

Acidophilus Plus
All Natural Fiber Food & Drink Mix
Aloe Vera Plus
Carotenoid Complex
Chelated Cal-Mag (capsules)
Chelated Cal-Mag (tablets)
Cod Liver Oil
Cruciferous Plus
Enzyme Digestive Aid
Flavonoid Complex
Feminine Herbal Complex Formula IV
Formula IV Plus Full Motion
Garlic Allium Complex
GR2 Control Thermogenic Enhancer
Herbal Respiratory Formula
Herbal Rest & Relax
Lipotropic Adjunct
Masculine Herbal Complex
MEC (Jamaica)
Mind Enhancement Complex
Neo-Cal Neo-Lax
Nourishake Drink Mix
Omega III Concentrate
Pet Pal
Pro Vitality+
Salmon Oil
Salmon Oil Plus
Super C Threshold Control
Super Ease
Tre-en-en Grain Concentrates
Vegetarian Multi
Vitamin E Plus
Vitamin A
Zinc, Chelated

2. Why is Tre-en-en now gluten free? Has the product changed? What about Pro Vitality+?

No, Tre-en-en has not changed. It is the same great product that has been proven to support the healthy cellular uptake of nutrients and removal of waste from the cells by optimizing the function of the cell membrane and improving nutrient utilization. Pro Vitality+ has not changed either. We have worked very closely with our suppliers to ensure the amount of gluten in the constituent ingredients in products is less than 20 ppm. We will continue to monitor these products in order to maintain their gluten free status.

3.For the products that contain oats, is there a risk of cross contamination with wheat?

No. We work very closely with our suppliers to ensure there is no cross contamination of oat ingredients with wheat.

4.What about the other nutrition products and skin care and home care products?

NeoLife has only tested the products listed above against the new regulations. Skin care and home care products have not been tested for gluten content since gluten sensitivity occurs for ingested products and gluten free guidelines for topical application do not exist.